Immigration. Travel. Living.

Types and acquisition of visa to Ukraine

Flag of Ukraine


Types of visas

Depending on the aim of your travel, there are three types of visas to Ukraine.

Transit visas (B type)

This type of visa is granted to foreigners or stateless people to pass through Ukraine to another destination. B type visa is also available for the transit of cargo and vehicle passengers. Every transit period must not exceed 5 days. There is single entry, two- and multiple-entries visas valid for the period of time indicated in the accompanying documents (a maximum of one year).

Short-term visas (C type)

They are issued to a foreign or stateless person who intends to remain in Ukraine for up to 90 days in a given 180-day period. This type of visa is granted as single, double or multiple entries for the period indicated in the supporting documents. C type visas cannot exceed a five year-term.

Short-term visas are necessary for tourists, businesspersons, media workers, official representatives, volunteers, humanitarian aid or charity delegates.

Long-term visas (D type)

They are granted to foreign and stateless persons who are going to stay in Ukraine for a period of time which exceeds 90 days. This refers to a temporary residence permit. Long-term visas are issued as multiple-entries visas for 90 days.

The main grounds for obtaining D type visas include study or work at companies in Ukraine, family reunion with Ukrainian citizens or people residing there, various types of activities (educational, scientific, sport, cultural or volunteer).

Visa acquisition procedure

Visa application has to be submitted to one of the following institutions.

Ukraine’s Embassies or Consulates that are located abroad. Each person who needs to have an entry Ukrainian visa can apply for their document to the relevant Embassy or Consulate. This should be done no earlier than 3 months before the planned date of entry to Ukraine.

The visa departments of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs at border checkpoints at the international airports in the territory of Ukraine (Boryspil and Odessa). This refers to the emergency visa on arrival.

Ukraine’s Visa Application Centres. There are 56 VAC abroad. Persons who are required to have a Ukrainian visa can apply only to the centre located in their country.

Online (e-Visa). Just citizens of 52 specified countries can obtain a single-entry 30-day Ukrainian visa. The grounds to get e-Visa are business, tourism, medical treatment, private visit, different activities (educational, scientific, sport etc.) or mass media staff visit.

Supporting documents

The final list of documents is different depending on the purpose of your visit. If you need the Ukrainian visa, you should provide the following documents:

  • passport or travel document;
  • visa application form;
  • a photo (35*45 mm);
  • valid medical (travel) insurance policy;
  • document that confirms the payment of fee;
  • proof of sufficient funds covering the costs for the period of time you are going to stay in Ukraine.

In addition, the document confirming the purpose of the visit to Ukraine should be submitted too.

For B type visas it has to be any document that confirms your stay in the country will not be more than 5 days (visa for another country, tickets, international carrier license etc.).

To get C type visas, you should have an invitation from person or entity, a document confirming the tourist nature of the journey, a paper certifying the family ties with a citizen of Ukraine etc.

For D type of visas, it should be work or immigration permit, an invitation for study from the educational institution or other organizations (government agency, foreign mass media, religious entities, educational or scientific institutions).

Time limits for processing an application

wheat field

Usually visas are issued in up to 10 working days from the day of application. If necessary, the time for processing can be extended for up to 30 working days. Urgent visas are granted in up to 5 working days. E-Visa application is processed within 9 working days.

Visa fees

Usual fee is $65.00. Urgent visa requires double fee payment. MFA visa divisions at border checkpoints at the international airports in the territory of Ukraine charge 2550 UAN. E-Visa is granted upon the $85.00 fee.

Visa-free countries

Ukraine has a non-visa regime with all 28 member countries of the EU. In addition, visa is not required for a stay up to 90 days within a 180-day period for some other countries. They are Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Brazil, Canada, Chile, The Holy See, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Kazakhstan, Republic of Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Monaco, Montenegro, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Qatar, Saint Kitts and Nevis, San Marino, Switzerland, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, USA.

Visa is also not required for the citizens of Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Russia, Uzbekistan.

Contact us