Immigration. Travel. Living.

Papua New Guinea: immigration guide

Flag of Papua New Guinea

There are 4 regions which are divided into 22 provinces. They are; islands, momase, Papua and Highlands. Each region has its culture and beauty. Papua New Guinea is a fascinating area to reside in because of its diverse cultural communities. Quite interesting is the fact that the country boasts of more than 800 spoken languages. If you find living on a tropical island appealing, then you are heading to the perfect destination. A home to one of the most peaceful and friendliest people in the world with a deep sense of community, to live and work here means building true relationships and genuine connections.

If you have made up your mind about moving here, then the next step is finding your eligibility for a visa. Foreigners with the intent of moving to PNG must know if their country of residence has a visa-free entry agreement with PNG. Citizens from some countries are allowed visas on arrival while others have to apply beforehand. The following are four key things to know if you intend to live permanently here:

Visa Types in Flag of Papua New Guinea

There are several types of visas available to foreigners looking to enter the country. However, the choice of a visa mostly depends on two factors: purpose and duration of stay.

Tourist eVisa

This is a type of visa issued to persons entering with the sole purpose of sightseeing or visiting a resident. It’s a type of tourist visa that’s available in an electronic format. To apply for this type of visa, you must fill out and submit the application form on the PNG’s immigration website then await your visa by mail.

Unless stated differently, a tourist e-visa is only usable for 30 days. Only citizens from nations eligible for this visa can apply. When applying, you must have a passport that is valid for at least six months.

Tourist visa

This also applies to foreigners coming only to explore the island or visit a family or friend. However, it is issued to citizens from nations who are not eligible for an e visa or visa on arrival. If you are interested in staying for a short time, you should apply for this. It allows you to reside like a resident but has certain restrictions such as working with it.

Business e-Visa

Just the same as the tourist e-Visa, this is issued to businesspersons from places who are eligible for e-Visa, if you are eligible; you may apply for this online, provided you are traveling for the following reasons:

  • To attend  a business meeting
  • To attend a conference
  • To participate in a trade fair, etc.

Map of papua new guinea, gold glitter map on dark background Free Photo

Business Visa

This is given to business travelers from other countries. You’ll need to apply to an embassy in your home country. Some documents to submit are a passport valid for at least 6 months, a letter of invitation from our host, proof of accommodation, etc. it is a short stay visa, so you will have to leave the island once it expires.

Work visa

This type of visa allows a foreigner to live while working at a country-based company. It is issued to an applicant who is recently employed and has to work here. In most cases, the employer will apply for a work visa on behalf of the employee. However, you will have to apply for a work visa before leaving your home. To apply, simply submit the application form and all necessary documents required at the nearest embassy then wait for the processing.

There are certain visas, which apply to specific purposes a bit different from the common purposes. They include the Journalist e-Visa, Restricted employment e-Visa, and Sportsperson e-Visa.

Permanent Residency at Flag of Papua New Guinea

This is like a visa issued to applicants who have fulfilled all requirements, which allows them to reside indefinitely here without being a citizen. Since this doesn’t make them legal citizens, it can be revoked at any time if the holder is found to have misused or breached any of the conditions stipulated to being a permanent resident.

How to Apply

To become a citizen and live here as long as you desire, having the right to enter and exit the island when you have to, you require citizenship. To get it, you must fit into one of the following categories:

  1. By birth: a person born in PNG to maternal and paternal grandparents on or before September 16, 1975.
  2. By descent: a person born abroad to at least one citizen parent. Such a person must have been registered no later than one year after birth.
  3. By naturalization: a person who has fulfilled the requirements and is deemed worthy of being a citizen.

Only people born abroad to at least one native parent are eligible for dual citizenship. They can keep it until they become 18, at which point they must forfeit their other citizenship.



Conditions to meet if you want to become a citizen are must have resided for eight years, renounced previous citizenship, intend to remain indefinitely, be of good character, speaks the local language, and have a reliable source of sustenance.

Contact us